May 8, 2022


The Truth must be told no matter what so Justice can live!

Ta’limul Islam @ Lessons in Islam Part 1


In the name of Allah, Most Compassionate, Most Merciful.

Nahmadullah Al Aliyyal Adhim Wa Nusalli ‘Ala Rasulihil Kareem.

We praise Allah, the Sublime , the Majestic and pray for Allah’s Blessings on His Noble Messenger.

I am sharing here with you the first of a series which I intend to complete , Insya Allah as to write about the entire series of the Lessons in Islamic Knowledge.

The meaning of Islam.

Islam means Peace. It is an Arabic term or word.

When a person testifies to Believing in Allah and in the Prophethood of Allah’s Final Messenger to Mankind, the blessed Muhammad ibni Abdullah, then the person is accepted as a Muslim.

A male Muslim is called as a Muslimin and a female Muslim is called a Muslimah.

The Muslims are also called as Believers. A Male Believer is called a Mukmin and a female Believer is called as a Mukminah.

The plural for both these terms above are Muslimins and Muslimats as well as Mukminin and Mukminat.

Muslims are named according to what is lawful and honorable in the meanings.

What is Islam?

The Messenger of Allah, Muhammad Sallalahu Alaihi Wassallam, stated that Islam is based on 5 things:

1. Testament of Faith @ Kalimah Shahadah :

Ash har doo Allah ila ha ill lall Lah.” (I declare there’s no God but Allah) ;

” Wa ash har doo anna Muhammad dar Rasulullah!” ( I declare that Muhammad is the Messenger of Allah).

2. Solat (Performing the 5 daily Prayers) dutifully and sincerely to Allah.

3. To fast @ Saum in the blessed Holy month of Ramadhan from before the Dawn until sunset.

The fast must be intended just for the sake of Allah and must be carried out willingly and one must abstain from consuming any food or drink and not do anything that nullifies the fast.

4. To pay Zakat @ mandatory charity to the poor and needy or to the authorities in charge of welfare.

When a Muslim owns 85 grams of gold or it’s equivalent in cash, 2.5% of it must be paid to the Zakat authorities after being in possession of this wealth or the equivalent amount in his or her source of income for a year.

Zakat Fitrah which is collected here in Malaysia during Ramadhan is the least amount of mandatory charity that is fixed and regulated by the authorities.

It differs from state to state but here in KL, the amount is just RM4.80 per head.

5. Perform the Hajj @ Pilgrimage to Makkah al Mukarramah in Arabia.

A Muslim is obliged to go perform the Hajj once in a lifetime. When one can afford the traveling costs and is able to perform the Pilgrimage and being healthy ; then it is imperative that the Muslim fulfill this final requirement of the faith.

Going to the Hajj will open up oneself to realizing that we are all equal before Allah the Almighty and those who complete their Hajj in the perfect manner will Insya Allah, return home a changed person, cleaned of all sins and be pure in both body and soul.

The Hajj is sort of a cleansing process of one’s heart and soul and removes one’s arrogance and ego when being in the midst of millions of one’s fellow Ummah consisting of the entire brotherhood and sisterhood of Mankind.
Now, let’s take a look at the Declaration of Faith towards Allah Subhanahu Wa Ta’ala.

This is the bedrock of faith in Islam.

When a person states that ‘There is no (other) God except Allah, then that person must learn all there is to the subject of submission to only Allah the Almighty in both the person’s heart and soul.

This constitutes the matter of Iman @ Faith. Iman can be further explained as to the context of believing in Allah.

There are two categories explaining Iman.

First is Iman Mujmal @ Iman in brief.

Iman Mujmal is attested to by these verse of attestment.

Amantu Billahi Kama Huwa Bi Asmah’ ihi Wa Sifatihi Wa Qalbi Tu Jami’a Ahkamihi ” meaning ‘ I affirm my faith in Allah as He is with all His Names and Attributes and I accept all of His Commands.’

The next is ‘Iman Mufassal @ Iman in detail. The attestment of such Iman is as :

Amantu Billahi Wa Mala’ikatihi Wa Kutubihi Wa Rusulihi Wal Yaumil ‘Akhiri Wal ‘Qadri Khairihi Wa Shar Rihiminal Lahi Ta’ala Wal Ba’thi Ba’dal Maut!

meaning ‘ I affirm my faith in Allah, His Angels, His Books, His Messengers, The Day of Judgement, in the Fate of Good and Bad that is predetermined by Allah and in coming back to life after death (the resurrection).
The Pillars of Iman @ Faith

It is important for each and every Muslim both male and female to really learn and know what it is about being a Muslim and what we have to uphold very firmly in our life.

Iman consists of believing in :

1. Allah Subhanahu Wa Ta’ala

  • In His Existence – Each and everything that exists here on Earth and in the Universe as we know it has a time frame. Every living being or thing has a beginning and an end. Each life as we have come to learn , came into being , existed for a while and then perished. Gone into the annals of Time and becomes a part of history as we know it.
  • Allah Subhanahu Wa Ta’ala exists in His Realm before Time and Eternally. Everything else comes into being by His Will and comes to an end according to His Will as well. None exist without His Permission and Decree.
  • His Oneness in His Attributes. His deserving to be worshipped by us who are created by Him and None Other. Allah is He who is to be supplicated to and submit ourselves to His Legislations.

2. His Angels @ the Mala’ikats –

  • beings created from Light whose sole purpose are to obey each and every commandment of Allah the Most Supreme, Most High.

3. His Holy Books –

  • Zabur @ Book of David – sent to Prophet Daud Alaihis Salam @ Prophet David (pbuh)
  • The Taurat @ Torah – sent to Prophet Musa Alaihis Salam @ Prophet Moses (pbuh)
  • The Injeel @ Gospel – sent to Prophet Isa Alaihis Salam @ Prophet Jesus Christ (pbuh)
  • The Holy Al-Qur’an al Karim @ The Last Testament which abrogates all the earlier revelations and was sent to the Greatest Messenger and Chief of all of Allah’s Messengers and Prophets, the Blessed Prophet to all Mankind, Muhammad Sallalahu Alaihi Wassallam.

4. His Messengers

  • the first of them was the Prophet Nuh Alaihis Salam @ the Prophet Noah (pbuh) and the last of them was Prophet Muhammad Sallalahu Alaihi Wa Sallam being the Seal of the Prophets.
  • You need to know the difference between the term Nabi and Rasul Allah. There were 124,000 Nabi’s @ Prophets of Allah, God Almighty sent to us Mankind through Time but there were only 25 amongst them who were mentioned by name in the Qur’an and 5 of them being the major Messengers of Allah.
  • Adam, Idris @ Enoch, Nuh @ Noah, Hud, Saleh, Ibrahim @ Abraham, Luth @ Lot, Ismail @ Ishmael, Ishak @ Isaac, Yaakob @ Jacob, Yusuf @ Joseph, Ayub @ Job, Shuaib, Musa @ Moses, Haron @ Aaron, Zulkifli @ Dhul Kifl, Daud @ David, Sulaiman @ Solomon, Ilyas @ Elias, Ilyasa @ Elisha, Yunus @ Jonah, Zakaria @ Zachariya, Yahya @ John, Isa @ Jesus , Muhammad al Mustafa.
  • The 5 major Messengers of Allah Subhanahu Wa Ta’ala are Prophets Nuh Alaihis Salam @ Noah (pbuh), Ibrahim Alaihis Salam@ Abraham (pbuh), Musa Alaihis Salam @ Moses (pbuh), Isa al Masih Alaihis Salam @ Jesus Christ (pbuh) and Muhammad Sallalahu Alaihi Wassolatu Wassallam.

5. Al Qiyamat – The Last Day @ Doomsday.

  • The day the World as we know it will come to an end.
  • The Day of Resurrection for the reckoning of the people according to their deeds and their appropriate compensation (rewards or punishment).

6. In Qada’ and Qadar (Divine Preordainment) that all that takes place whether good or evil is by divine decree, accompanied by the employment of means to achieve the desired results with the satisfaction of accepting that not a Zarrah @ molecule moves without Allah’s Decree!

Continues tomorrow…Insya Allah.